Posts Tagged ‘Keyword Research’
Advanced Options- as useful as the “categories” feature is the “Advanced Options” link. As you click on this link reveals constraints you can place on your keyword statistics to get an even more realistic view of the performance you can expect from them. A very useful feature is to restrict your results by geographical location and languageand investigate the effect that different ‘max cpc’ and ‘daily budget’ limits will have on your keywords performance. Another very interesting new feature is the ability to filter your results. Based on criteria that you define, you could have the tool show you only those keywords that provide more than 1000 impressions in a month or for which you could obtain a top 3 position for your particular budget constraints.
The new AdWords Keyword Selection Tool provides AdWords advertisers with a very comprehensive view of how your keywords might perform, the seasoned AdWords expert will get hours of enjoyment looking at potential keywords for their campaign from every angle imaginable.
For those that are very new to AdWords, this tool is going to seem very complicated. Many new advertisers are going to be tempted to select an even bigger list of keyword suggestions and add them to their campaign, that is without doing any proper research on their value.
This is going to be good news for Google’s bank balance making lots of extra cash from all the additional keywords these types of advertisers will select, maybe not so good for the advertiser who may not see a corresponding rise in sales.
Drill further down into important keywords by using the Google Insights for Search tool, an expansion of whatever keyword you enter providing more keyword ideas but importantly you can see at the same time geographically where these keywords are most popular giving the historical trends of the keyword currently going back to 2004.
When you have exhausted the research using these tools, saving the information on a spreadsheet as you go. The next step is to split the keywords into core competitive keywords and long-tail keywords. Core competitive keywords being the obvious ones that everyone bids on such as “car insurance” and the long-tail keywords being more specific versions of these such as “cheap car insurance london”. When it comes to allocating budget it is possible to ensure that it will be done more profitably.
You need to divide them up into related keywords that can be developed into the ad groups of one particular campaign, so an insurance company that does many types of insurance will have car insurance, motor insurance, commercial insurance all as separate campaigns. In retail it should be according to either brands or stock type.
Finally make sure you develop more long-tail keywords by adding words such as “cheap” at the beginning and end of the keyword phrase, unless of course this is not appropriate, the same applies to “online”, “buy” and “sale” to name a few developing the best google adwords keywords this way will both save you a lot of money and increase profits.
If you have a six-figure annual budget and would be happy with a mere 10% return on investment (ROI), don’t bother bidding for popular 1-word keywords. The competition for most single-word keywords is fierce, searches on single words are made most frequently by people who are simply not ready to spend their money. They are merely investigating the market, gathering information, they are “tyre-kickers”.
1-word keywords would probably bankrupt you very quickly.
2-word keywords are a better bet, they can still command a high cost per click in competitive markets. Surfers who search on them may still not be ready to buy, although they’re getting there.
Keyword phrases of three words and up are known as “long-tail” keywords. The word “keyword” in pay-per-click advertising can mean a phrase of more than one actual word, like “New York”. A “keyword phrase” consists of more than one “keyword”.)
3-word keyword phrases have the highest conversion rate. People who type three words as a search term have usually done their investigations, know exactly what they want, and are now ready to buy.
4-word keyword phrases fare slightly less well because the searcher may indeed be ready to buy, but is comparing prices for a very specific item, or is doing some academic research.
Don’t understimate the power of negative keywords! If you sell tulips. You don’t want your ad to appear when someone searches on the term “grow tulips”. They may not click on your ad, it’d be an unnecessary impression, and its click-through rate (CTR) would suffer. Specify “grow” as a negative keyword.
The competition for most single-word keywords is fierce, unless the niche is very esoteric, searches on single words are made most frequently by people who are simply not ready to spend their money. They are merely investigating the market gathering information, in other words, they are “tyre-kickers”.
1-word keywords would probably bankrupt you very quickly.
2-word keywords are a better bet, but they can still command a high cost per click in competitive markets, surfers who search on them may still not be ready to buy, although they’re getting there. Keyword phrases of three words and up are known as “long-tail” keywords.
3-word keyword phrases have the highest conversion rate, according to tests. People who type three words as a search term have usually done their investigations, know exactly what they want, and are now ready to buy.
4-word keyword phrases fare slightly less well, perhaps because the searcher may indeed be ready to buy, but is comparing prices for a very specific item, or is doing some academic research.
Do not underestimate the power of negative keywords. Let us say, if you sell tulips, you don’t want your ad to appear when someone searches on the term “grow tulips”, although they may not click on your ad, it’d be an unnecessary impression. This can be negatively affecting and its click-through rate (CTR) would suffer. You have to specify “grow” as a negative keyword. (Of course, if your Ad Group contains only exact match keyword phrases, there’s no point in specifying negative keywords.)
There are a lot of steps you can take when you set up a Google Adwords. These are campaigns that will increase your bottom line, you need to know a few “vocabulary” terms that are important to understanding Adwords.
- Broad match- the default setting for Adwords. Broad keyword matching will produce many impressions with few results, if your keyword is tennis shoes your ad will show up when anyone enters tennis or shoes in any order. If you have a small niche, a broad match can give you a lot of exposure.
- Negative keyword- stops your ad from being shown if someone uses that keyword in their search, simply place a minus sign in front of the phrase, if you want to avoid freebie seekers, use -free in your keyword list.
- Phrase match- this will ensure that you ad will be shown to anyone searching for that specific phrase in that order and may include additional phrases.
- Exact match-using exact match will show your ad only when the customer enters those words in that order and no others.
- Conversion rate- the number of visitors who actually buy something, with 100 visitors and 3 sales, your conversion rate is 3%.
- Return on ad spend- number is calculated by measuring how many dollars you take in versus how much you spend on advertising, if you spend $1,000 and take in $5,000, your return on ad spend is 500%.
- Return on investment- spending $1000 to make $50,000 then the return on your investment or ROI is 2500%.
Keyword search or research is one of the best ways for a business to get the attention of its prospected customers, most especially if that business uses web content or blogs to promote its products and services.
With the help of keyword research, it will allow businesses to find all the right answers for a customer’s endless problem. It will allow businesses with the help of keyword research to find the exact word or phrase or even if it is not that exact. This is a great solution for a customer’s problem of searching for the answers to its problem through web search by using search engines.
Also with the help of keyword research, you can uncover hidden opportunities for a less used keyword or unanticipated keyword of a business that has a possibility playing a major role in a business success on its online campaign.
This kind of instance or occasion typically occurs or happens because unused keywords may receive a significant amount of traffic because unused keywords have little competition from its business competitors. Keyword research will increase the return of the businesses web marketing investment. Like an old saying says “turning trash in to cash”.
Lastly, with keyword research, a business may find a word or a phrase that can describe the businesses’ true nature. The result that is provided by the keyword research tool can make a big difference when it comes to a business’s marketing strategy.

